Fiberside Chat: Melissa Leapman August 28

by Janet Avila

Fiberside Chat: Melissa Leapman August 28

Friday, August 28
5:30 - 6:30pm (central time)

Click here to register (Scroll through the options to shop with String Theory.)

Longmont Yarn Shoppe (our host) will send you an email with the Zoom link on the evening before the event. Please make sure to check your spam filter if you don't see your invitation. A reminder email will be sent one hour before the start time of your registered session. (If you sign up less than 24 hours before the event, you will only receive the email one hour before the event.)

Meet Melissa Leapman

Join us to see what is new with one of America's most prolific designers. and authors. During the chat, Melissa will be introducing us to an unusual slip stitch technique.

Homework: 

With smooth worsted weight yarn and appropriate size knitting needles, cast on 23 stitches. Work K1P1 Rib for 1", then knit one row and purl one row. Slip stitches onto a holder with the yarn still attached.

Supplies to have ready during the chat: 
  • Printed handout ready to go,
  • one homework piece with the yarn still attached;
  • additional worsted weight yarn in a sharply contrasting color;
  • appropriate size knitting needles;
  • sticky note.
With over 1250 designs in print, Melissa Leapman is one of the most widely-published American knit and crochet designers at work today. She's worked with leading ready-to-wear design houses and is the author of several bestselling knit and crochet books including The Knit Stitch Pattern HandbookMastering Color Knitting6000+ Pullover PossibilitiesKnitting the Perfect Fit, and most recently, Knitting Modular Shawls. She is a sought-out speaker and teacher at national and international yarn events such as Vogue Knitting Live and her popular annual knitting/crocheting cruises. Leapman lives in New York City.

This is a one-time live zoom event on Friday August 28th at 6:30 Eastern, 5:30 Central, 4:30 MT, 3:30 Pacific



Janet Avila
Janet Avila

Author


Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.


Also in What's New

Local Yarn Store Day 2020
Local Yarn Store Day 2020

by Janet Avila

Saturday, September 12
10am - 5pm

We want you to know how much we love being your local yarn store, so let's celebrate!

View full article →

Newish Knitter Knitalong: September
Newish Knitter Knitalong: September

by Janet Avila

Our first Newish Knitter Knitalong has been so popular, we decided to make it a regular monthly event.

View full article →

Fiberside Chat: Karida Collins September 4
Fiberside Chat: Karida Collins September 4

by Janet Avila

Spend some time with String Theory favorite Karida Collins of Neighborhood Fiber Co. and learn everything you want to know about hand-dyed yarn. Karida will talk about the different methods by which yarns are hand dyed and how the resulting yarns look when knit.

View full article →